An Open Letter to my Best Friend’s Future Husband

Dear man who thinks he’s good enough for my best friend,

There are a few things you need to be made very aware of before you date my best friend- let alone propose to or marry her.

First off, you need to know that I loved her first- before you were even in the picture.

We went on ice cream dates and dinner dates and movie dates. We cuddled while watching Netflix and fought over which place to order pizza from. There were nights where I fell asleep talking to her on the phone. I texted her last thing at night and first thing in the morning.

This girl who you love- I love too. And although I am predisposed to hating every fiber of your being for taking her away from me- I don’t hate you. If she loves you, I love you too.

I hope that every time she sees you- she lights up. I hope that you are a man of ministry who seeks after the Lord long before you seek after her precious heart. I hope that you are a strong leader with compassion and grace (because she is going to need a lot of that). I hope that you treat her like the beautiful woman of God that she is. Give her everything she needs- not materialistically, but emotionally and spiritually. Be her support, be her biggest fan. Encourage her in the moments when she doesn’t believe in herself, love her in the moments when she feels unlovable. Care for her in the times that she says she can do it alone, and when she says she is having a bad day- go get tissues- she will cry. Actually, if she says she is having a really good day- go get tissues. She will cry.

You have no idea what you’re getting yourself into. But I hope that she blows you away like she’s blown me away. You’re not just getting a wife- you’re getting a friend. And she’s not just any friend- she is the best friend you could ever hope for. She’s loyal and caring and kind and compassionate. She’s vulnerable and real and wise and loving. She’ll truly stand by you through anything. And she will do it with extraordinary grace and tact.

So, man who thinks he’s good enough for my best friend… In this next season of your life you will get to go with her on ice cream dates and dinner dates and movie dates. And you will get to cuddle while watching movies and fight over where to order pizza from. You will fall asleep talking with her next to you and she’ll be the last thing you see at night and the first thing you see in the morning.

Enjoy every single moment. Never take this woman for granted. She’s much too precious for that– I know this from experience.

I hope that she brings you a fraction of the joy that she has brought me- and I know for certain that she will. God has truly shown you favor to have found this girl. She is my best friend but I can’t wait until she becomes your wife. You make her happy- and that makes me so happy. She has found the love of her life and I feel honored to have been able to walk through this with her.

My job is all but done. So please take care of her like I have taken care of her because I love her too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

